Criminal Assault in Homewood
Arguments and spats between family, friends, or strangers can happen. Emotions can run high, and tempers rise. When these incidents get out of hand and you harm or strike another individual, you may be charged with assault. The state of Alabama takes assault charges serious. An assault charge can have serious consequences, especially if it leads to a conviction.
If you are charged with assault, contact a Homewood assault lawyer. A qualified criminal lawyer can work diligently to defend you in a court of law.First-Degree Assault
First-degree assault in Alabama means a person purposely tried to cause physical harm or injury to another person by utilizing a weapon that could have killed or harmed the individual, resulting in disfigurement.
Often the perpetrator of this crime acts as though they have no regard for human life. First-degree assault in Alabama is considered a Class B felony.Second-Degree Assault
Second-degree assault happens when a person purposely and physically injures another person during a fist fight or injures a person with a dangerous object that could be defined as a deadly weapon.
A person can be charged with second-degree assault when they put others at risk for injury or death. Second-degree assault is considered to be a Class C Felony.Third-Degree Assault
Third-degree assault occurs when a person intentionally or accidentally causes another individual to be physically injured. The actions could be the result of negligence, recklessness, or carelessness while using an instrument that could cause death.
Third-degree assault is the least severe of the assault charges in the state, and it carries a minimal sentence. It is considered to be a Class A misdemeanor.Penalties and Punishment
The punishment for being convicted of an assault charge will vary depending on the nature of the crime and which one the three types of offenses a person is charged with for their crime.
When a person is charged with third-degree assault, they will serve a light sentence. The maximum punishment would be a year in county jail. The penalties for first-degree and second-degree assault, however, may include a significant amount of prison time.
When an individual is convicted of a first-degree assault charge (Class B Felony), they may serve up to 20 years in prison. If one is convicted of a second-degree assault charge (Class C Felony), they could serve up to 10 years in prison. A Homewood assault lawyer can mitigate potential penalties that a person may face.Potential Defenses Against Assault Charges
When charged with an assault offense, one needs to have a strong defense for their actions. A Homewood assault lawyer can create a defense strategy to explain your aggressive actions in an assault case.
The lawyer may use duress, coercion, self-defense, or acting to defend others as possible defenses for the defendant’s actions.Contact a Homewood Assault Attorney Today
At times, everyone’s temper may get the best of them. However, if your temper crosses the line into aggressive behavior and results in an assault charge in Alabama, you need to find reliable legal representation.
You should contact a Homewood assault lawyer who can examine your case and, if applicable, find the defense strategy to show that your actions were necessary to control a situation.
An assault charge may have a negative impact on your reputation and personal relationships. Do not allow an assault charge or conviction to ruin your life, contact an experienced criminal defense attorney today.