Criminal Assault in Covington County
Being charged with assault can have wide-reaching consequences, from punitive fines to probation and incarceration. The different degrees of assault are generally based on severity and can lead to a number of different outcomes. On top of these concerns, you may also have to deal with social sigmas accompanying a violent charge.
If you find yourself in this situation, hiring a qualified Covington County assault lawyer may help ensure that your best interests are protected during the often complex court process. Become acquainted with the following information to learn more about how a dedicated defense attorney could fight for your rights today.Levels of Assault
Generally, an assault occurs when someone purposefully or recklessly causes—or attempts to cause—physical injury to another individual. In Covington County, there are three possible types of assault charges, depending on the severity of the assault and the unique circumstances of each case. Know that a dedicated Covington County attorney assault lawyer could help an accused defendant better understand which category their charge might fall into and what their options could be moving forward.Third-Degree Assault
Third-degree assault is the lowest level of assault and is articulated in Alabama Code Section 13A-6-22. It can lead to penalties such as incarceration of not more than one year, costly fines, probation, and community service.Penalties for Second and First-Degree Assault
Under Sections 13A-6-20 and 13A-6-21 of the Alabama Code, first-degree and second-degree criminal assaults are distinct crimes but have some overlapping elements. For instance, both can be triggered when an individual intends to cause physical injury to an individual by means of a deadly weapon, and actually causes such harm. A second-degree assault rises to the level of first-degree assault when someone commits any of the following acts during the commission of an assault:
- Causes serious physical injury to another during the commission of a separate felony
- Intends to permanently disfigure an individual and causes such disfigurement
- Creates a severe risk of death by acting with such reckless indifference for human life that they cause serious injuries to another individual
- Drives under the influence and causes serious injury to another individual with an automobile
The penalties for first-degree assault can be found in more detail in Section 13A-5-11 of the Alabama Code. They range from incarceration for two to 20 years, fines up to $30,000, and more severe penalties if an individual is a habitual offender. Consider retaining a skilled defense attorney to learn more.Reach Out to a Covington County Assault Lawyer Today
Being charged with assault can be stressful, overwhelming, and sometimes even life-altering. However, you can feel reassured knowing that there are often legal options to pursue if you are in this situation. A professional Covington County assault lawyer could help poke holes in the prosecution’s argument by conducting an external investigation, calling upon professional witnesses for testimony, and fiercely advocating on the defendant’s behalf.
If you are facing assault charges, it can be imperative to receive legal protection as soon as possible. Consider reaching out to a Covington County assault lawyer who could help protect your interests for an initial consultation today.