Mountain Brook Gun Crimes Lawyer
Alabama firmly believes in the right to bear arms outlined in the second amendment. To sustain this right, the state has some of the most lenient gun laws in the country.
However, the law places reasonable limits on these rights. And, gun-related charges still have serious penalties. This makes it crucial for gun owners to know the laws and how to abide by them. It would be important to consult a Mountain Brook gun lawyer for any assistance.
If you face a gun-related charge in Mountain Brook or the surrounding areas, an experienced gun lawyer can help you face these charges with knowledge, experience, and determination.Gun Ownership Rules and Regulations
In Mountain Brook, there are reasonable regulations on who can own a firearm and how and where owners can use them. A Mountain Brook gun lawyer would be able to help individuals understand these regulations. For example, owners can only conceal certain firearms, such as handguns, with a license. And concealed carry licenses are only issued to “suitable persons” with no previous convictions.
Moreover, a person must be 18 years or older to own or purchase a firearm. A person who is an alcoholic, drug addict, or violent offender may not own or purchase a firearm.
In many cases, a person can openly carry a firearm anywhere in the state. But, they must keep the gun secured in a holster. This can be an ankle holster, inside-the-waist holster, or shoulder holster. Even if in a holster, individuals may not openly carry a gun while operating a motor vehicle. In 2013, Alabama passed a law stating that merely carrying a holstered and secured weapon does not constitute disorderly conduct. In Mountain Brook, firearms are banned from domestic violence shelters, public demonstrations, public schools, private premises that do not belong to a person, state parks, and in youth detention facilities.Federal Limits on Gun Licenses
Federal law outlines who can receive a license to carry a gun. Anyone carrying a gun illegally faces federal charges that are even more severe than those of the state. A Mountain Brook gun lawyer would take it upon themselves to fight for a person’s rights.
According to 18 United States Code section 922(g), certain individuals are prohibited from owning a firearm including:
- Anyone convicted of a felony
- Anyone dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces
- Anyone labeled mentally incapacitated or committed to a mental institution
- Anyone who renounced their United States citizenship
- Anyone ever subjected to a court order related to domestic violence
- A fugitive from justice
- An alien illegally in the United States
- Anyone using any controlled substance
A violation of these laws can result in a person facing up to 10 years in prison. If someone uses a firearm in a violent crime, there is a five-year mandatory minimum. If they discharge that firearm in a violent crime, they face a 10-year mandatory minimum.Call a Mountain Brook Gun Lawyer for Answers
Even if charged with gun-related penalties, there are defenses that may apply to your case. Alabama has “stand your ground” laws that make it legal to fire your gun in self-defense. To know your rights when facing a gun charge, talk to a Mountain Brook gun lawyer today. A lawyer could protect your constitutional rights while guiding you through the process. Call for a free consultation with an experienced gun attorney who can answer your questions.