Lawrence County Third-Offense DUI Lawyer
Being charged with a third DUI offense when you have two prior convictions is likely to feel like an overwhelming situation. You might be unsure of how to best deal with the charges. A Lawrence County third-offense DUI lawyer may be able to help you fight the charges.
Attempting to fight a third DUI charge on your own might prove difficult as both the laws and the legal system may be complicated. The possible penalties for a third conviction are more severe than for first or second offenses. Rather than face the charges alone, let an accomplished DUI defense attorney represent you who can seek to obtain the best legal outcome possible.DUI Statutes
DUI statutes in Lawrence County prohibit the operation of a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, narcotics, or other controlled substances. It is also a violation of the law to drive while under the influence of any other type of substance that impairs a person’s physical or mental functioning. Laws pertaining to DUI offenses are covered in the Code of Alabama under section 32-5A-101 of title 32.
Driving with a blood alcohol level of 0.08 percent or higher, 0.02 percent for persons under 21 years of age, constitutes driving under the influence and is a chargeable offense. If a person refuses to submit to a chemical test to determine blood alcohol level, law enforcement officers may still make an arrest if they have reasonable grounds to believe the person was driving under the influence.
A Lawrence County attorney for DUI third-offenses may be able to further explain the laws surrounding refusal to submit to blood alcohol testing.Legal Penalties
A person convicted of a third DUI offense faces several possible legal sanctions. The sentence for a third conviction could include multiple sanctions, such as both imprisonment and a monetary fine. The legal penalties for a third DUI conviction, as outlined in the Alabama statutes, include:
- A jail sentence of between 60 days to one year
- A fine of between $2,100 and $10,100
- Completion of a DUI or substance abuse program
- Revocation of the driver’s license for three years
- Use of an ignition interlock device
The minimum term of imprisonment is a mandatory 60 days to be served in either a county or municipal jail. This 60-day term of imprisonment cannot be suspended for probation or community service.
The law requires an ignition interlock device to be installed on a designated vehicle for a period of three years. The device operates as a breathalyzer, preventing the vehicle from starting if the driver has an estimated blood alcohol level above the legal limit. Individuals convicted of a third DUI offense are only permitted to drive a vehicle with such a device during the mandated three-year period. An attorney may be able to help a person facing a third-offense for a DUI in Lawrence County.How an Attorney Could Help
A Lawrence County third-offense DUI lawyer may be able to answer questions about the specific charges against a person, as well as provide legal representation. Also, an accomplished attorney could provide assistance with fighting DUI charges and try obtaining the best possible legal outcome.Talk to a Lawrence County Third-Offense DUI Attorney
Defending yourself against DUI charges can be challenging and possibly more complicated when the charges are for a third offense. Having prior DUI convictions could potentially impact the outcome of your case. Do not try fighting the charges on your own.
An attorney for DUI offenses should be familiar with laws pertaining to offenses of driving under the influence and the associated penalties for DUI convictions. Contact a Lawrence County third-offense DUI lawyer for representation today.